Professor Andrzej Jajszczyk is new Vice-President of the ERC

photo source: www.histroia. agh.edu.pl

The Scientific Council of the European Research Council (ERC) has appointed Professor Andrzej Jajszczyk as a new Vice President of ERC. Professor Jajszczyk will assume his duties from 1 January 2021 and will be in charge of ERC’s operations in the scope of Physical and Engineering Sciences.

Professor Andrzej Jajszczyk is an eminent specialist in telecommunications, telecom switching and telecommunications networks. His research focuses primarily on methods of analysing and synthesising digital switching networks  as well as gigabyte optical networks and telecommunications network management. His papers on theory of telecommunications switching paved the way for further research in this area both in Poland and abroad. Professor Jajszczyk was involved in close cooperation with industrial partners, supervising multiple research programmes focusing on design and study of digital switching systems and telecommunications networks and delivering expert reports commissioned by leading Polish and international companies.

Professor Andrzej Jajszczyk, who has been with the Department of Telecommunications at the Faculty of Computer Science, Electronics and Telecommunications (WIEiT) since 1999, served as the Department’s Assistant Manager in the period between 2000 and 2005.

He is the author or co-author of 12 books, over 300 scientific articles (of which over 60 have been published in top scientific journals included in the Master Journal List) as well as 19 patents related first and foremost to the Internet, optical telecommunications networks and network nodes as well as over 60 articles on science and higher education. During his tenure as the editor-in-chief of ‘IEEE Communications Magazine” published in the United States he led this monthly to the top position in terms of impact factor among all telecommunications journals.

In 2008 Professor Jajszczyk received a prestigious award from the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP). In the period between 2011 and 2015 he was the first Director of the National Science Centre (NCN). The list of offices held by Professor Jajszczyk includes: member of the Council of the National Museum in Kraków (2011-2015), Vice-President of the Kyoto-Krakow Foundation and member of Klub Krakowski, Corresponding Member of the Polish Academy of Sciences (PAN) and the President of the Krakow Branch of the Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland’s delegate to the International Federation for Information Processing, member of the Science Policy Committee (KPN). Since January 2017 Professor Jajszczyk served as a member of ERC’s Scientific Council and in September 2017 he was elected a full member of Academia Europaea (European Academy of Sciences).

The other Vice-President of the European Research Council recently appointed by ERC Scientific Council – Professor Nektarios Tavernarakis – is a Professor of Molecular Systems Biology at Medical School of the University of Crete (Heraklion, Greece). He is also a member of ERC Scientific Council (since 2016) and Chairman of the Board of Directors at Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas (FORTH). Professor Tavernarakis will be in charge of ERC activities relating to the domain of life sciences.

Both newly-appointed Vice-Presidents will join Professor Eveline Crone (Leiden University, the Netherlands), who is continuing her tenure as Vice-President in charge of social sciences and humanities. All three Vice-Presidents will also serve as ERC President Deputies – since 24 July the position has been temporarily held by Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon (École Polytechnique, France), who will remain in office until the new President is appointed. His predecessor – Professor Mauro Ferrari – stepped down in April.

The European Research Council is an autonomous institution aiming to promote high quality scientific research in all domains of science. Established in February 2007, the Council operates under EU’s Framework Programme 7 in the area of scientific research. ERC consists of the Scientific Council – ERC’s highest decision-making body responsible for, among other things, defining general strategy as well as the Executive Agency in charge of implementing the ERC’s strategy.