Ceremony of conferral of the title of AGH UST Doctor Honoris Causa upon Professor Alberto L. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli

On March 18, 2022 at 12:00 at the AGH UST, Professor Alberto L. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli will receive the title of Doctor Honoris Causa of the AGH UST. He is an Italian scientist, academic teacher, and co-founder of two companies in the field of electronic design automation.

Event schedule

  • Gaude Mater Polonia performed by the AGH UST Song and Dance Ensemble “Krakus”
  • Speech given by Professor Jerzy Lis, the AGH UST Rector
  • Presentation given by Professor Sławomir Gruszczyński, Dean of the Faculty of Computer Science, Electronics and Telecommunications
  • Presentation given by the supervisor
  • Presentation of the diploma
  • Master lecture
  • Gaudemus igitur performed by the AGH UST Song and Dance Ensemble “Krakus”

The event will be broadcast live at agh.edu.pl.

Professor Alberto L. Sangiovanni-Vincentelli is the Edgar L. and Harold H. Buttner Chair at the EECS Department, UC Berkeley. He co-founded Cadence and Synopsys, two leading EDA companies. He is on the Boards of Directors of Cadence, KPIT, Expert.ai, Cy4Gate, Exein, and Chairman of the Boards of Quantum Motion, Phononic Vibes, Innatera, and Phoelex. He is a member of the advisory board of Walden International and Xseed, of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Italian Institute of Technology and the Chair of the Strategic Board and of the International Advisory Board for the Milano Innovation District. He is a member of the Advisory Board of the Politecnico di Milano and an honorary professor at the Politecnico di Torino. He was the President of the ‘Comitato nazionale dei garanti per la ricerca’ and of the Strategy Committee of Fondo Strategico Italiano. He consulted for companies such as Intel, HP, Bell Labs, IBM, Lendlease, Samsung, UTC, Lutron, Kawasaki Steel, Fujitsu, Telecom Italia, Pirelli, GM, BMW, Mercedes, Magneti Marelli, and ST Microelectronics.

Professor Sangiovanni-Vincentelli authored 19 books, 2 patents, and over 1,000 papers. He is a Fellow of the IEEE and ACM and a member of the National Academy of Engineering. He earned the IEEE/RSE Maxwell Award ‘for groundbreaking contributions that have had an exceptional impact on the development of electronics and electrical engineering or related fields’, the Kaufmann Award, the EDAA lifetime Achievement Award, the IEEE/ACM R. Newton Impact Award, the University of California Distinguished Teaching Award, the IEEE TC-CPS Technical Achievement Award, the IEEE Leon Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award, and the ISPD Lifetime Achievement award.