Skip to content Skip to footer


Ceremony of conferral of the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to Dr. Mrityunjay Singh
  • 02.06.2023

On June 2, 2023 at 12:00 in the Assembly Hall, the ceremony of conferral of the title of Doctor Honoris Causa upon Dr. Mrityunjay Singh will take place.

Event schedule*

  • Gaude Mater Polonia performed by the AGH University Song and Dance Ensemble “Krakus”
  • Speech given by Professor Jerzy Lis, the AGH University Rector
  • Speech given by Professor Jerzy Jedliński, Dean of the Faculty of Materials Science and Ceramics
  • Speech given by the supervisor
  • Presentation of the diploma
  • Master lecture
  • Gaudeamus igitur performed by the AGH University Song and Dance Ensemble “Krakus”

*the event will be held in English

The life of Dr. Mrityunjay Singh

Dr. Mrityunjay Singh is Chief Scientist at the Ohio Aerospace Institute, Cleveland, OH. He received his Ph.D. in Metallurgical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology-BHU, Varanasi, India, in 1983 and did his postdoctoral work at Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY. He is Academician of World Academy of Ceramics, Italy, and Fellow of the American Ceramic Society, ASM International, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Indian Institute of Metals (IIM), and National Academy of Inventors (NAI). He is an Honorary Fellow of the European Ceramic Society, Indian Institute of Ceramics, and an honorary member of the Materials Research Society of India, Indian Ceramic Society, and Distinguished Life Member of Alpha Sigma Mu and the American Ceramic Society. He has received honorary doctorates from Nagaoka University of Technology, Japan, and the Slovak Academy of Sciences, Slovakia.

He is internationally recognised for his long-term and outstanding contributions to science and technology of advanced materials and manufacturing technologies. His research has addressed both basic and applied questions and has been instrumental in establishing design, integration, and performance limits for single and multi-materials used in a wide variety of aerospace and ground-based applications. The results of his research have directly influenced the component design, material selection, manufacturing process optimisation, and the use of materials in high-performance systems. He has been a major contributor to the formulation and execution of materials research strategies, engineering and technology development, and materials selection in support of aeronautics, space exploration, and space power systems. His professional leadership and contributions have made a significant impact at the global level.

Dr. Singh is the recipient of more than 90 national and international awards, including five R&D 100 awards, FLC Technology Transfer Award, EDI Innovation Award, NASA Public Service Medal, NASA Silver Snoopy Award, two NorTech Innovation Awards, and numerous NASA Group Achievement Awards. He received the Ishikawa Carbon Prize; Sir Richard Brook International Award from ECerS, and William B. Johnson Founders Award from Engineers Council. From the American Ceramic Society, he has received Distinguished Life Membership (DLM) Award-ACerS Highest Honor, Edward Orton, Jr. Memorial Lectureship Award, President Award, W. David Kingery Award, John Jeppson Award, Richard M. Fulrath Award, Samuel Geijsbeek PACRIM International Award, and James I. Mueller Awards. He has received IIT-BHU Distinguished Alumnus Award and International Dresden Barkhausen Award from Germany. He has also received Lee Hsun and Einstein Professorship awards from the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He has received the 2020 Edward DeMille Campbell Memorial Lectureship from ASM International and the Kona Achievement Award from the Society of Powder Technology, Japan, and the Malaviya Award from the Indian Ceramic Society in 2022. He will be awarded NASA’s Outstanding Public Leadership Medal and the Albert Sauveur Achievement Award from ASM International in 2023. Dr. Singh is the editor/co-editor of 55 books and proceedings, 7 special journal volumes, the author/co-author of 14 book chapters, and more than 300 research papers in various journals and proceedings. He serves on the advisory boards and committees of more than a dozen prestigious international publications.