About the School

The AGH Doctoral School was established by the Ordinance of the Rector of the AGH University of Science and Technology of May 15, 2019. 


Within the School, the Doctoral Candidates may undertake studies in one of the following fields and disciplines.


  • The Field of Engineering and technology:

a) Automation, and electronic and electrical engineering,
b) Information and communication technology,
c) Biomedical engineering,
d) Chemical engineering,
e) Civil engineering and transport,
f) Materials engineering,
g) Mechanical engineering,
h) Environmental engineering, mining and energy,


  • The Field of Natural sciences:

a) Computer and information sciences,

b) Mathematics,

c) Chemical sciences,

d) Physical sciences,

e) Earth and related environmental sciences,


  • The Field of Social sciences:

a) Management and quality science,b) Sociology,


  • The Field of Humanities:

a) Cultural and religious studies.


Studies at the AGH Doctoral School provide creative and inter-disciplinary approach to scientific research and flexible programme, allowing every candidate to select courses according to their needs.


The doctoral programme is full-time and lasts between 6 and 8 semesters. Its major goal is preparation of doctoral thesis. The process is aided by two components:


  • individual programme of study
  • individual research plan.


Studies at the School are free of tuition. We offer high scholarships for most of our doctoral candidates.